Placeholder image for

University of Tartu, Estonia: Study Experience of Menka

Menka is a 23-year-old student from Mauritius, who is following a Master’s in Quantitative Economics at the University of Tartu.

International students from Mauritius studying in Estonia.jpg

What is your name and age? Where are you from?

I am Menka Devi Emerit, aged 23 years old, from Mauritius

What is the name of your university, study programme, which discipline? When did you start studying?

I am doing my postgraduate in Quantitative Economics at the University of Tartu. The Master’s is a 2-year programme, that started in August 2016.

What made you choose this programme? How did you decide?

After my Bachelor’s studies, I wanted to pursue further studies and specialize in the field of Economics. While surfing the net, I came across this programme and saw that the curriculum matches what I had planned.

What were the main challenges you had to face before being accepted to your university?

The biggest challenge, I believe, was to back the tuition waiver scholarship, without which coming to the University of Tartu would have been difficult.

What are three things you like most about the university? Why?

The university organises a lot of events that enable students to mingle, and eases the lives of international students, by providing guidance. The studies are flexible in terms of choosing subjects that are out of one's curriculum or even field.

If you could improve anything about the university, what would it be?

In my opinion, sample past exam papers should be made available for programmes that are completely new.

What are three things you like the most about the city?

Briefly, the architecture, the people, and the natural surroundings.

Name one thing you would have liked to be different about the city? Why?

24-hour supermarkets or food places. At 23.00 everything is closed and it is not possible to get food if one wants too, late at night.

What was the biggest surprise in your study adventure?

A big component of the final grades consist of homework, which came as a big surprise, since that was not the case in my Bachelor’s studies.

How would you rate your experience on a scale from zero to ten (0 – It is/was a total disaster, 10 – I have/had the time of my life)? Why?

8 out of 10. The city is great, the people are welcoming and the university is wonderful. I have been exposed to different cultures, got many new friends and learnt a lot.

Is there anything that you would do differently if you could do it over again?

I would like to change the approach that I had in the first semester to the curriculum. Seeing how it was a new and different system of education, compared to the one in my country, I believe I could have done better.

What are your future plans after graduating?

I plan on joining the job market, so as to be exposed to real-life situations and gain some professional experience in my field, all while applying for PhD studies.

Share your favorite spot, the university and the city with us!

I like the main square hall, where I can sit and take a look at the kissing fountain. It’s really romantic and fascinating. At the university, I like the library and the library popup rooms.

Were you inspired by Menka’s story?

Find more Master’s degrees in Social Sciences

Explore more than 60000 Master's programmes from all around the world with Studyportals.

All disciplines
Worldwide

Wishlist

Hey there 👋🏼

We are Studyportals, the #1 education platform to find your best matching studies for free.

What are you interested in studying?